Summer Meisner Intensive Talk with Sara Kohler – Maggie Flanigan Studio – Call 917 789 1599

Summer Meisner Intensive Talk with Sara Kohler - Maggie Flanigan Studio - Call 917 789 1599During this interview with Katie, Sara Kohler talks about the Meisner Summer Intensive at the Maggie Flanigan Studio.

The Meisner Intensive provides pupils together with the chance to experience what this means to train as a professional celebrity. In this interview, Sara talks about her experience in the six-week summer intensive and how it was different than what she formerly believed the professional training was like.

Q: What did you think acting before you began the Six Week Summer Intensive training was?

A: I though that acting training was a great deal of what I did in school. I didnt believe it was essential for me personally. I didnt understand what training so coming here and really meant, and learning the start of the Meisner technique, I began to understand that training was nothing that I thought it was. Its just a new manner of working that I’d never even thought of and I was trying to step into these characters in my scene study classes that I ‘d no notion how to step into. I ‘d no technique and I didnt understand what I was doing. Coming here Ive began to understand how to work and Ive already learned so much.

Q: What happened during the Meisner Summer Intensive that altered your outlook on training?

A: I had been just constantly looking forward to my cue and saying a line the way that I thought Id done homework on and that it had been rehearsed by me and really I did learn the way to do assignments, which will be insane. Just thinking back to the summer, how much Ive come is astonishing and it really, really altered my entire life.

Q:

A: I was surprised to recognize and come to the final outcome that everything I had ever done was awful and possibly in high school and college I was one of the better folks in the program and things came easy for me and I was always cast as the lead. I was surprised to think back on those parts that Ive played and realized that I had no notion what I was doing. I didnt have training, I didnt possess a technique, I didnt know the way to even prepare for a function and with the Meisner technique you actually start to comprehend what its like to craft and develop a character and also a circumstance and live through something. I was just so shocked and its laughable to consider what exactly that I did before this. Its tough for me to think that I have been seen by individuals like that and its embarrassing to be somewhat honest.

Interview and this site post with Sara appeared on the studio site: http://www.maggieflaniganstudio.com/summer-intensive-program/

Leave a comment